Community property is a marital property regime under which most property acquired during the marriage, the community, or communio bonorum, is owned jointly by both spouses and is divided 50/50 upon divorce, annulment, or death.

There are nine community property states: Arizona, California, Idaho, Louisiana, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, Washington and Wisconsin. Alaska is an opt-in community property state that gives both parties the option to make their property community property.

Did this answer your question?